Variations on a theme…

Several years ago I stumbled on a National tune on 3Hive…if you don’t know 3Hive, it’s a music blog that’s a lot like lounging with your favourite peeps on a Saturday afternoon, hi-fi system pulled out for better access and everyone is nodding emphatically…visit often www.3hive.com…

Anyway…the National…right…  The song is called Wasp Nest, and its imagery is so crisp and so delicate, I was immediately obsessed.

Your eyes are broken bottles
And I’m afraid to ask
And all your wrath and cutting beauty
You’re poison in the pretty glass
You’re a wasp nest, you’re a wasp nest

Go on, find a copy…listen…it’s intoxicating.  I would run away with Matt Berninger’s voice at the drop of a hat…we’d travel through the south staying in sweltering hotels, grifting tourists and drinking whisky sours.  Matt’s voice would wear linen pants and suspenders and call me Bijou, in its smooth, sultry way…

I was thinking about that song the day SR tore the roof off our side entrance and brought me this:

I was awestruck by the detail and symmetry.

Delicate paper swirls, architecturally flawless, each cone inside geometrically perfect…

I must have taken dozens of photos…but I still can’t throw it away.  I have a ghost-town stored in my garage with a layered, seductive baritone wafting through on a breeze.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Variations on a theme…

  1. sherpamama says:

    Chills, lady, your last sentence gave me chills. You are truly finding your writing voice here and I want more!

  2. nowlansgirl says:

    Shucks. You’re topping my list of favourite enablers this morning. (followed only by EthicalBean Honey Roasted Espresso).

Leave a Reply

