The Mechanics of it All…

This morning I woke up to news that the Conservative government’s motion to eliminate the long-gun registry was defeated in Parliament. (That’s how I roll…I wake up with the dulcet tones of a CBC drone gently easing me into conciousness with tales of political process, government gaffes and natural disasters.  Kind of sets a tone for the pre-coffee hours.)

The response from Stephen Harper, our illustrious leader?

“After 15 years, opposition to the long-gun registry is stronger than it has ever been,” Mr. Harper said. “With the vote tonight, its abolition is closer than it has ever been.”

He predicted that opposition to the registry across Canada would not recede.

“The people of the regions of this country are never going to accept being treated like criminals, and we will continue our efforts until this registry is finally abolished.”

I have to ‘fess up.  I don’t understand why registering weapons equals oppression for so many people.  I don’t own a gun.  I, like a very large number of Canadians, will never own a gun.  That’s not a political statement.  I live in an urban area, I don’t hunt, I plan on using silent weapons like harpoons and arrows in the great zombie apocalypse.  If I did own a gun I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t feel like a criminal if the government, or even the general populace, knew I owned a gun.

What I do understand is the ranting of a petulant child who didn’t get his own way.  Mr. Harper, the people of Canada elected officials to speak for them.  The issue was raised, the people have spoken.  How about we now focus the behemoth political machine on other issues of national concern?  I’m not saying that this area didn’t deserve its fifteen minutes, but it feels like…slight of hand.  A diversion.  A way to rally the rural conservative constituents without much notice from the urban concentration of voters.

The fall parliamentary agenda looks like a line up to the polling stations; Bill C-32 the Copyright Act; lobbying and influence peddling fall-out; the census; immigration; and a wrap-up and analysis of the famed ‘Economic Action Plan’.

Wherever you fall on these issues, they’re all going to have dramatic impact on our day-to-day.  Pick up a paper, get cozy with Peter Mansbridge, surf the conspiracy sites… the mechanism of government is grinding along, you’ll want to keep an eye out to keep from getting crushed in the sprockets.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

