Gunpowder, treason and plot…

They still celebrate ‘Bonfire Night’ in Newfoundland.  Come November 5th, there might be other parts of Canada that host community fires where the whole neighborhood gathers to roast marshmallows and stand in a ring like a primitive tribe of Who’s, singing…  I’ve not seen it outside my home province.

I’m a bit thick sometimes…I was in my twenties before I linked Bonfire Night to Guy Fawkes.  When I was very young, I assumed it was a celebration for St. Bonaventure (’cause it was a ‘Bon’ fire)… the fire made sense because I thought all saints were martyred like Joan of Arc…Catholic school can bring about very complicated thought processes when you’re seven. 

The joking and running and cheering would peter out as the flames became embers, replaced with a dreamy, peaceful air that followed us home and to bed.  There was no fear walking in the dark, we were protected, smudged by the smoke of ritual.

If you’re on the rock tonight, toast a marshmallow for me. 

I see no reason why gunpowder treason should ever be forgot  .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

