Stay calm, watch for the signs…

from "Avoid Eye Contact", published by Burning Books

Hey…hey, you!  Yeah – you.  Slowly put the phone down and back away…no-one has to get hurt.

It’s the new opiate, and it makes me crazy.  Listen, I love you…I overlook faults that would make thousands stampede the nearest exit…but this is a deal breaker.  It’s bad science fiction from the ’60’s come to life – we’ve outfitted ourselves with permanent tracking devices, assimilated into the borg.  I accept the ubiquitous nature, the invasive culture, but when you’re using it in the stall and then placing it on the table next to your side salad, I draw the line.

There’s no way there’s an app for that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stay calm, watch for the signs…

  1. Mark Harley says:

    I recently joined the Borg ranks when I bought my first smartphone. I’m the (sort of) proud owner of an iPhone 4. I’ve even bought a few apps for it, but I don’t really use them. I don’t want to be reachable all of the time, and I almost always screen my calls. Geolocation (so “They” can find you) is turned off. I also do very little social networking. In today’s terms, I’m practically a hermit. Some days I can’t help but feel like I’m missing something, though.

Leave a Reply

